Monday, January 23, 2017

Malta takes on EU Presidency in 2017

2017 is a big year for Malta as the island takes over the Presidency of the Council of the European Union together with Netherlands and Slovakia. The European Presidency programme takes place over 18 months, and is split into three successive presidencies known as Presidency Trios. Malta’s role is to determine goals and identify and prepare a common agenda which will tackle the major issues that will be addressed by the Council over an 18 month period.